New Smash character to be announced tomorrow

Posted January 15, 2020

Get ready to rumble as Super Smash Brothers Ultimate announces its 6th DLC fighter Thursday night/Friday Morning.

In the wee hours of this morning, Masahiro Sakurai announced he’ll hold a 35 Minute Livestream on Jan. 16 at 6 a.m. PT / where he’ll reveal the next DLC for Super Smash Bros. Ultimate.  For those of you looking to stay up for the show, the Australian times will be as follows: Perth will get it at 22:00 Thursday night, Darwin at 23:30,  Brisbane will get right on midnight, Adelaide at 00:30, and Sydney, Canberra, Hobart, and Melbourne will get at 1 am.

The announcement is sure to be a big one. While it has since been announced that there will be more fighters on the way in further DLC packs, this was meant to be the final character announced. So dollars to donuts this will be a huge reveal. But who could it be? Doom Guy? Crash Bandicoot? Yet another sword user? Who knows, but currently my money is on Lloyd from Tales of Symphonia, or someone from Monster Hunter.

This could just be speculation, but we may get a brief look at who we can expect for the next fighter pass too. Sakurai has stated that this is will be the most expansive roster in smash history, saying “Adding more characters into the game means more game worlds will be added to the series, and ultimately, that means there will be an even greater opportunity to delight the fans.”



About the Author

Hailey McKay

When not writing for Checkpoint, Hailey enjoys dungeon delving, stagecoach robbery, and hunting monsters with her friends. She also spends a little too much time reading comics.