News

Aussie and NZ Tetris 99 players can win eShop currency this weekend

Calling all Australian and New Zealand Nintendo Switch players! Free this weekend? If not, clear your schedule and jump on your Switch and get clearing some lines on Tetris 99 and do your best to win yourself some Nintendo eShop currency by proving you’re the best at smashing out blocks and competition, if you dare.

Tetris 99

You may remember Tetris 99 as a free Nintendo Switch exclusive for Nintendo Online Subscribers that left some people scratching their heads in confusion when it was both announced and released during February’s Nintendo Direct. If not though, that’s okay because a competition like this is as good as reason as any to get yourself acquainted with the title.

Tetris 99 is a new Battle Royale game for the much loved classic Tetris, pitting (fittingly) 99 players against each other in a tournament to gradually sabotage and eliminate others. More so, the player must stay in the competition by ensuring their screen doesn’t fill up, much like traditional Tetris.

The competition this weekend, titled Tetris 99 Grand Prix, will span many countries and continents but both Australian and New Zealand players will get the chance to prove themselves from early Saturday morning til Monday evening. Information is as follows:

“Think you can clear lines with the best? Starting at 12:00am AEDT / 2:00am NZDT on Saturday 9th March and running until 5:59pm AEDT / 7:59pm NZDT on Monday 11th March, a special online event will be held in TETRIS® 99: the TETRIS® 99 Grand Prix.”

“The top 99 players from Australia or New Zealand with the most wins during this period will each get 999 Gold Points, worth AU$9.99 / NZ$9.99 in Nintendo eShop! Don’t miss out!”

The competition is only open to those with an internet connection as well as a Nintendo Online Subscription but players may want to jump on this one – it’s always nice to have a little extra money in the eShop bank.